English Courses

• OneSearch : CMTN library's search portal
• Basic and Advanced searching
• Databases A-Z : select specific databases  to search or browse
• Journal Titles A-Z : select specific Journals to search or browse
• Interlibrary Loans : request full-text documents from other libraries

OneSearch, the library's main search engine can be accessed from the front page of the library website.  As shown in the image below, there are a few different filters that can be selected before you perform your first search:

• Clicking [Advanced One Search] will bring you to the advanced search screen where you have extra options for refining and filtering your search.
• Checking off [Full text (Online)] will limit your search results to only documents available to read electronically in full-text.
• Checking off [Peer reviewed articles] will limit your search results to only documents that are scholarly / peer reviewed.
• Checking off [Full text (online or print)] will limit your search results to only documents available electronically in full-text or in person at one of our libraries.
• Checking off [Catalogue only] will limit your search results to only physical materials available at our libraries (no electronic documents).

Below are two videos that explore basic and advanced searching in OneSearch / EBSCO.

The library has access to some databases that are not included in OneSearch.  To browse the full list of databases click this link.  They are arranged alphabetically, but can be sorted a few different ways to help you find the databases relevant to your research.  Sort the list using the two drop down menus at the top of the page, [All Subjects] and [All Database Types]:

• Pull down the menu for [All Subjects] and select a relevant subject to see a list of related databases.
• Pull down the menu for [All Database Types] to find further ways to filter the list.
  • One filter you may find helpful is to display all databases not covered by OneSearch.  Click [All Database Types] -> [Excluded From OneSearch]

The Journals A-Z list is your best way to find a specific journal title to browse or search through.   If (for example) your instructor asked you to find an article to review from the journal Psychology Today you could use a keyword search to find it:

You could use the alphabetical list:

Or you could use the subject list:

B.C's libraries are great at sharing resources, and CMTN library is no different.  If there are books, articles, or audiovisual materials you need to support your academic work that aren't available to us locally, we can borrow these materials from libraries across the province.  [Ask a librarian] or fill out this online form to make your request!

If you are searching for articles from within OneSearch you can easily request documents in full-text from within the search results screen:

• Click [Access Options]
• Select [Request]

The details of the document will be autofilled into an interlibrary loan request form. Add your personal details and click [Submit] at the end of the form. A librarian will follow up with you soon after.