Skip to Main Content

Copyright: Is it Fair Dealing?

"Fair dealing for the purpose of research, private study, education, parody or satire does not infringe copyright" (sec. 29).

Copyright Act (R.S.C., 1985, c. C-42)

What kind of work is being copied?

Work from a library database

For what purpose will the copy be used?

Education

How will the copy be distributed?

Class Handout

Your use may be permitted or prohibited by license terms. Visit the library's permissions page for details. If your use is not governed by a license, then you must obey Canadian copyright law.

Brightspace

Your use may be permitted or prohibited by license terms. Visit the library's permissions page for details. If your use is not governed by a license, then you must obey Canadian copyright law.

Course Pack

Your use may be permitted or prohibited by license terms. Visit the library's permissions page for details. If your use is not governed by a license, then you must obey Canadian copyright law.

Email

Your use may be permitted or prohibited by license terms. Visit the library's permissions page for details. If your use is not governed by a license, then you must obey Canadian copyright law.

Research or Private Study

Your use may be permitted or prohibited by license terms. Visit the library's permissions page for details. If your use is not governed by a license, then you must obey Canadian copyright law.

Criticism or Review

Your use may be permitted or prohibited by license terms. Visit the library's permissions page for details. If your use is not governed by a license, then you must obey Canadian copyright law.

Work available through Internet

For what purpose will the copy be used?

Education

How will the copy be distributed?

Class Handout

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of education. "A short excerpt means . . . up to 10 per cent of a copyright-protected work."

The Copyright Act prohibits copying a work from the Internet in any of the following circumstances.
  • The work "is protected by a technological protection measure that restricts access to the work."
  • The work "is protected by a technological protection measure that restricts [copying]."
  • "[A] clearly visible notice — and not merely the copyright symbol — prohibiting [copying] is posted."
  • A copier "knows or should have known that the work . . . was made available through the Internet without the consent of the copyright owner."

Brightspace

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of education. "A short excerpt means . . . up to 10 per cent of a copyright-protected work."

The Copyright Act prohibits copying a work from the Internet in any of the following circumstances.
  • The work "is protected by a technological protection measure that restricts access to the work."
  • The work "is protected by a technological protection measure that restricts [copying]."
  • "[A] clearly visible notice — and not merely the copyright symbol — prohibiting [copying] is posted."
  • A copier "knows or should have known that the work . . . was made available through the Internet without the consent of the copyright owner."

Course Pack

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of education. "A short excerpt means . . . up to 10 per cent of a copyright-protected work."

The Copyright Act prohibits copying a work from the Internet in any of the following circumstances.
  • The work "is protected by a technological protection measure that restricts access to the work."
  • The work "is protected by a technological protection measure that restricts [copying]."
  • "[A] clearly visible notice — and not merely the copyright symbol — prohibiting [copying] is posted."
  • A copier "knows or should have known that the work . . . was made available through the Internet without the consent of the copyright owner."

Email

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of education. "A short excerpt means . . . up to 10 per cent of a copyright-protected work."

The Copyright Act prohibits copying a work from the Internet in any of the following circumstances.
  • The work "is protected by a technological protection measure that restricts access to the work."
  • The work "is protected by a technological protection measure that restricts [copying]."
  • "[A] clearly visible notice — and not merely the copyright symbol — prohibiting [copying] is posted."
  • A copier "knows or should have known that the work . . . was made available through the Internet without the consent of the copyright owner."

Research or Private Study

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of research or private study. "A short excerpt means . . . up to 10 per cent of a copyright-protected work."

The Copyright Act prohibits copying a work from the Internet in any of the following circumstances.
  • The work "is protected by a technological protection measure that restricts access to the work."
  • The work "is protected by a technological protection measure that restricts [copying]."
  • "[A] clearly visible notice — and not merely the copyright symbol — prohibiting [copying] is posted."
  • A copier "knows or should have known that the work . . . was made available through the Internet without the consent of the copyright owner."

Criticism or Review

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of criticism or review. "A short excerpt means . . . up to 10 per cent of a copyright-protected work."

The Copyright Act prohibits copying a work from the Internet in any of the following circumstances.
  • The work "is protected by a technological protection measure that restricts access to the work."
  • The work "is protected by a technological protection measure that restricts [copying]."
  • "[A] clearly visible notice — and not merely the copyright symbol — prohibiting [copying] is posted."
  • A copier "knows or should have known that the work . . . was made available through the Internet without the consent of the copyright owner."

Article from a periodical

For what purpose will the copy be used?

Education

How will the copy be distributed?

Class Handout

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of education. "A short excerpt means . . . a single article from a periodical [or] an entire newspaper article or page."

Brightspace

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of education. "A short excerpt means . . . a single article from a periodical [or] an entire newspaper article or page."

Course Pack

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of education. "A short excerpt means . . . a single article from a periodical [or] an entire newspaper article or page."

Email

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of education. "A short excerpt means . . . a single article from a periodical [or] an entire newspaper article or page."

Research or Private Study

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of research or private study. "A short excerpt means . . . a single article from a periodical [or] an entire newspaper article or page."

Criticism or Review

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of criticism or review. "A short excerpt means . . . a single article from a periodical [or] an entire newspaper article or page." You must mention the source and author(s).

Book

For what purpose will the copy be used?

Education

How will the copy be distributed?

Class Handout

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of education. "A short excerpt means . . .one chapter from a book [or] an entire entry from an encyclopedia, annotated bibliography, dictionary, or similar reference work."

Brightspace

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of education. "A short excerpt means . . .one chapter from a book [or] an entire entry from an encyclopedia, annotated bibliography, dictionary, or similar reference work."

Course Pack

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of education. "A short excerpt means . . .one chapter from a book [or] an entire entry from an encyclopedia, annotated bibliography, dictionary, or similar reference work."

Email

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of education. "A short excerpt means . . .one chapter from a book [or] an entire entry from an encyclopedia, annotated bibliography, dictionary, or similar reference work."

Research or Private Study

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of research or private study. "A short excerpt means . . .one chapter from a book [or] an entire entry from an encyclopedia, annotated bibliography, dictionary, or similar reference work."

Criticism or Review

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of criticism or review. "A short excerpt means . . .one chapter from a book [or] an entire entry from an encyclopedia, annotated bibliography, dictionary, or similar reference work." You must mention the source and author(s).

Sound recording or audiovisual work

For what purpose will the copy be used?

Education

How will the copy be distributed?

Classroom Performance

According to the Copyright Act "It is not an infringement of copyright for an educational institution or a person acting under its authority to [perform in public a sound recording or cinematographic work] if they are done on the premises of an educational institution for educational or training purposes and not for profit, before an audience consisting primarily of students of the educational institution, instructors acting under the authority of the educational institution or any person who is directly responsible for setting a curriculum for the educational institution . . . as long as the work is not an infringing copy or the person responsible for the performance has no reasonable grounds to believe that it is an infringing copy."

Brightspace

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of education. "A short excerpt means . . . up to 10 per cent of a sound recording or an audiovisual work." Instead of copying a work, post or share a link to the work.

Email

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of education. "A short excerpt means . . . up to 10 per cent of a sound recording or an audiovisual work." Instead of copying a work, post or share a link to the work.

Research or Private Study

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of research or private study. "A short excerpt means . . . up to 10 per cent of a sound recording or an audiovisual work."

Criticism or Review

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of criticism or review. "A short excerpt means . . . up to 10 per cent of a sound recording or an audiovisual work." You must mention the source and creator(s).

Image or artwork

For what purpose will the copy be used?

Education

How will the copy be distributed?

Class Handout

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of education. "A short excerpt means . . . an entire artistic work (including a painting, print, photograph, diagram, drawing, map, chart, and plan) from a copyright-protected work containing other artistic works."

Brightspace

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of education. "A short excerpt means . . . an entire artistic work (including a painting, print, photograph, diagram, drawing, map, chart, and plan) from a copyright-protected work containing other artistic works."

Course Pack

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of education. "A short excerpt means . . . an entire artistic work (including a painting, print, photograph, diagram, drawing, map, chart, and plan) from a copyright-protected work containing other artistic works."

Email

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of education. "A short excerpt means . . . an entire artistic work (including a painting, print, photograph, diagram, drawing, map, chart, and plan) from a copyright-protected work containing other artistic works."

Research or Private Study

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of research or private study. "A short excerpt means . . . an entire artistic work (including a painting, print, photograph, diagram, drawing, map, chart, and plan) from a copyright-protected work containing other artistic works."

Criticism or Review

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of criticism or review. "A short excerpt means . . . an entire artistic work (including a painting, print, photograph, diagram, drawing, map, chart, and plan) from a copyright-protected work containing other artistic works." You must mention the source and creator(s).

Poem or musical score

For what purpose will the copy be used?

Education

How will the copy be distributed?

Class Handout

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of education. "A short excerpt means . . . an entire single poem or musical score from a copyright-protected work containing other poems or musical scores."

Brightspace

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of education. "A short excerpt means . . . an entire single poem or musical score from a copyright-protected work containing other poems or musical scores."

Course Pack

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of education. "A short excerpt means . . . an entire single poem or musical score from a copyright-protected work containing other poems or musical scores."

Email

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of education. "A short excerpt means . . . an entire single poem or musical score from a copyright-protected work containing other poems or musical scores."

Research or Private Study

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of research or private study. "A short excerpt means . . . an entire single poem or musical score from a copyright-protected work containing other poems or musical scores."

Criticism or Review

According to the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada's Fair Dealing Guidelines it is fair to copy "short excerpts" for the purpose of criticism or review. "A short excerpt means . . . an entire single poem or musical score from a copyright-protected work containing other poems or musical scores." You must mention the source and author(s).