Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MLA Style: Encyclopedia Articles

Encyclopedia article in a volume of a multivolume work, from a library database

"Salmoniformes (Salmons)." Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, edited by Michael Hutchins et al., 2nd ed., vol. 4, Gale, 2004, pp. 405-20. Gale eBookslink.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3406700270/GVRL?u=nortcom&sid=GVRL&xid=9469b2fa.

Narrative citation: "Salmoniformes (Salmons)" . . . (405-06)

Parenthetical citation: ("Salmoniformes" 405-06)

"When an entry in the works-cited list begins with the title of the work . . . your in-text citation contains the title. The title may appear in the text itself or, abbreviated, before the page number in the parenthesis."

(MLA Handbook 55-56)

Entry in a continuously updated encyclopedia, with individual author

Renn, Ortwin, and Andreas Klinke. "Risk Perception and Its Impacts on Risk Governance." Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Environmental Science, edited by H. H. Shugart, Oxford UP,  9 May 2016, doi:10.1093/acrefore/9780199389414.013.2. Accessed 22 Jan. 2021.

Narrative citation: Renn and Klinke

Parenthetical citation: (Renn and Klinke)

"When a source has no page numbers or any other kind of part number, no number should be given in a . . . citation. Do not count unnumbered paragraphs or other parts."

(MLA Handbook 56)

Archived version of entry in a continuously updated encyclopedia, with individual author

Moriarty, Jeffrey, "Business Ethics." The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, edited by Edward N. Zalta, Fall 2017 ed., plato.stanford.edu/archives/fall2017/entries/ethics-business/.

Narrative citation: Moriarty

Parenthetical citation: (Moriarty)